N’est pas Renzo Piano qui veut…Zentrum Paul Klee

I know the first thing you are going to tell me is Renzo Piano is not Swiss! True!

And probably you are wondering why EATDRINK is in a slow mode. Spring maybe? Blogger suicide?

No! I am actually helping my son with his “swiss project” (rebuilding his favorite Swiss landmark) and I realize that I am no architect and my vision in space is quite limited…

While searching the web for some help on how to rebuild the Zentrum I fell on these and I feel you need to see them: the Zentrum is really “a series of waves situated on concentric circles”

Makes you want to drop everything and start all over again! Woaw!

Her goes a kids interest on a great piece of architecture and a great artist:

“Maurice Müller (1918 – 2009) was a Swiss surgeon who developped a fixation techniques to treat bone fractures and who also advanced the development of the hip prosthesis. For that last invention, Müller managed to become extremely rich and in the last years of his life decided to become the patron of a museum to remember one if his favorite artists Paul Klee! Müller developed the initial ideas for the museum, contacted architect Renzo Piano for its realization, and donated through a foundation formed for this purpose 70 million chf (more than half of the total cost of chf 125 million) for the construction of the museum.

Renzo Piano is an Italian architect that was born in 1937 in Genoa. He is famous for designing many fantastic monuments like the Bubble in Genoa or the Centre Pompidou in Paris. Renzo Piano says that for the Paul Klee, he drew inspiration from the identity of the location, the gently rolling profile of the terrain itself, for the vision of the structure he wanted to create.

The museum holds more than 4000 of Paul Klee’s works of art. His daughter-in-law Livia Klee-Meyer donated 690 works of art to the museum and more than 200 pieces of art are on loans from private collections to the museum.

What is important about the building is that it has a curvy shape, which matches Paul Klee’s style of painting since he used many unusual shapes and lines. The artifact was built to resemble 3 waves in the sea.

I chose this building because I visited it with my mother and was very impressed by it because it was really well designed. It reminds me of two things; the beach and Paul Klee’s drawings”.

The Zentrum Paul Klee is magical in itself and it holds the worlds largest collection of works by artist Paul Klee. A must.