Baked my day

One of my favorite food stops in Switzerland has got to be the bakery. Naturally it is a place I visit daily so when I stopped by Wehren Bäckerei in Schönried I was totally ecstatic to find a place that reminded my of the typical Swiss Bakery.

Since 1916, 4 generations of Wehren’s have been running the shop but it all really started of a generation earlier on the local markets! They have all sorts of breads and as Andrea Wehren explaines “the secret of the taste lies in the fact that the dough is left to rise often more then 24 hours”.

They have so many different breads to select from … the locals usually come for the bread made of black wheat, or for the fondue bread (a 30 year old invention of Andrea’s father who was fed up with cutting the bread for the fondue). You must try a few!!!

If you are in the region you can still stop by and get the delicious old fashioned hearts for Valentine’s day! The Bakery really made my day!

Wehren Bäckerei Chnusper-Becke

Dorfstrasse 32 3778 Schönried

Tel. 033/ 744 14 84